Replacing & Deleting Individual Products – on a single-site account

This guide will assist you in replacing several ingredients with another ingredient:

Common reasons you may want to do this: 

  1. You already have the product in the system but you want to change it from one product to another across all your recipes/sub recipes and menus 
  2. The product has been discontinued by the supplier and you need to swap it out across all your recipes/sub recipes and menus 
  3. You want to change the supplier for that product to another supplier, because you are not happy with the quality or the price 

      Objective: 

      To change one or several products in the system and ensure that these changes feed through to your recipes/sub recipes and menus. 

      Depending on whether you want to remove the old product or you wish to keep it in the system is up to you. But there are 2 different processes you must follow: 

      First you must ensure that the new product has been correctly imported/added to the system - see product import guides. 

      If you wish to keep the old product in the system: 

      • Click on Menu Costing > Products 
      • Then click on “Find and Replace” 
      • Search for the product you want to replace in the box showing “Change Product” where it says “Enter Product name” 

      /C:/b4c5a1db2ad1044d527ed98fb7e8f70a

      • Click on the product you want to replace;
      • Then search for the product you want to replace it with, click on that product;
      • Then Click "Replace". 

      What this will do is replace: 

      • The old product for the new one in every single sub recipe/recipe and menu that product has been used in 
      • It will re-calculate all of the sub recipe/recipe and menu costings 
      • It will also change the allergens on all sub recipes/recipes and menus if these have changed with the new/replaced product and the product was tagged with allergens initially  

      NB:- the old product will still be in the system and will still be able to be used 

      • If you wish to remove or delete any products on a single site you can delete the products that do not have a red line under the box next to them (the red line means that the product is being used in a sub recipe/recipe, as below) 

      /C:/986b1296bd45b49ac8f9aabe6b14b02a

      • If you want to remove/delete the product WITH the red line you need to find & replace as mentioned above, as the system will not allow the deletion of a used item 
      • If you want to delete the product WITHOUT the red line under it: 
      • Click Actions > Delete 

      /C:/5697152acf348c530f4630d31020b563

      • You will not have the option to delete a product with a red line under the box 

      You can multi delete products by:- 

      • Selecting multiple products you want to delete via checking the tick-box next to the products you want to delete

      /C:/b9bd3874e9aa108f4db59b24289d65bd

      • OR by multi-selecting them all by clicking the tick-box next to “code” 

      /C:/93fd1ceee268783e79457e4d4733ec82

      • At the bottom right of the page, click on the “Do with selected” drop down menu  
      • Then click “Delete products” 

      /C:/b48bf3edee85bc3028bead57983d7864